Environmental protection as a primary objective

The non-profit cultural association Cinzia Vitale was founded in 2012 in memory of prematurely-departed Cinzia Vitale. The President Roberto Vitale wanted to commemorate his sister giving “life” to some dreams… to be the voice for those who have none. Vitale Onlus intends to pursue only non-profit social solidarity and this through events connected with the promotion of culture and art, as well as a more complete human and social development for the enhancement of the linguistic heritage and the environmental protection.

The honorary and the scientific committees of Vitale Onlus include, among others, the Nobel Peace Prize Filippo Giorgi, Lawrence Banks, general director of the International Centre for Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology, the journalists Tiziana Ferrario, Toni Capuozzo and Sergio Canciani, the UN spokesman for critical areas Andrea Angeli, Maria Giovanna Elmi, as well as academic and diplomatic figures. Other meritorious members include the journalist Paolo Rumiz, the writer Claudio Magris, the ambassador Staffan de Mistura, the scientist Mauro Giacca, bishop Fouad Twal, Latin Patriarch of Jerusalem, the late lamented astrophysicist Margherita Hack, the archbishop Guido Pozzo, almoner of His Holiness Benedict XVI and Andrea Margelletti, president of the Centre for International Studies.


In addition to the parchment, the Cinzia Vitale Prize consists of a silver coin of 500 lire minted in 1964, the year in which Cinzia Vitale was born. The Italian Republic, to date, has issued only two silver coins intended for circulation, namely the 1,000 lire Roma Capitale and the 500 lire. This last coin of 1964, chosen by the Vitale family as a symbol of the prize, weighs 11 grams and is called “Caravelle” due to the design of the obverse in which three caravels appear with the bow facing to the right and the tips of the flags towards the nose of the boats. The coinage of this side was engraved by Guido Veroi who chose the three caravels to symbolize the economic rebirth of Italy in those years. On the reverse, however, you can admire a bust of a woman surrounded by the coats of arms of nineteen regions or regional capitals, and among these the city of Trieste where Cinzia Vitale was born.

The winners of the annual Cinzia Vitale Prize are Giorgio Marrapodi, ambassador (2021), Federica Gasbarro, green activist (2020), Silvia Marchesan, scientist (2019), ICGEB Cancer Virology Laboratory (2018), Giacomo Guerrera, president of Unicef Italia (2016), Mohamed H. A. Hassan (2017), executive director of the World Academy of Science, the writer Boris Pahor (2015), the princess Elettra Marconi (2014) and David B. Sutcliffe (2013), headmaster of UWC Adriatic.


The president and artistic director of the Motumundi festival is Roberto Vitale. Born in Trieste in 1968, columinist for the newspaper Il Gazzettino he attended the faculty of Letters and Philosophy and graduated with a thesis on Psychology of Communicatio”. He was spokesman of the Italian UN contingent in Lebanon and of UNIFIL Sector West (Italy, France, Ghana, South Korea, Slovenia, Brunei and Malaysia), deployed in compliance with the UN Security Council resolution 1701, and Senior Expert of Communication in the programme Instrument for Stability of the European Commission.

Read more →

The people behind Motumundi

Young and old, women and men representing a multiculturalism are the distinctive characteristics of the Motumundi Team

Filippo Boni

Anna Finotto

Aldo Ferretti

Elisa Querini

Emma Bellon

Federico Vozza

Alessandro Forni

Helena Baafi Mensah

Nicolò Miotto

Simone Braca