The Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation has the task of implementing Italy’s foreign policy and representing the country in the context of international relations. Attention is paid to political, economic, social and cultural relations, as well as to relations with other states.

The Tuscany Region is chaired by Eugenio Giani, who was elected to the Regional Council for the first time in the regional consultations of 28 and 29 March 2010. Re-elected in the 2015 elections, from 25 June 2015 he was President of the Regional Council of Tuscany.